Out of the mouths of babes

I have been going to school and learning since before my “baby” was born. I changed professions, went from being a nursery woman and arborist to a high school science teacher,  and my kid has been there for me, all the way.

So it should not come as a surprise to me that she continues to be supportive, but it does and here’s an example.

I asked her what it is about her new video game “Zelda, Skyward Sword” that keeps her locked up in her room all day playing.  I have been reading JP Gee on the relationship between good games and good learning but I wanted to hear it from the horses mouth,  so to speak. We discussed it at length,I gained some insights, we went to bed and I thought that was it.

The next morning, I woke up and found this waiting for me on the stairs…

” So mum, I was thinking about video games and education and whatnot, and I realized that I have never played a video game where I was completely alone. In Bioshock  I was physically alone, yes, but I could communicate with people through the radio I carried, and the citizens of Rapture (the setting) had left audio diaries, which provided advice, and created a personal connection that kept me playing.

In Zelda there is always a sidekick that offers input and encouragement. You can access their abilities any time you want, and sometimes you have to rescue them. They share a personal connection with the protagonist of the game, but they don’t do it for them. They are there as a helper, not a doer. The protagonist has to complete the goal, and the side kick is there to offer opinions along the way.

This is alot like a classroom teacher I think. The teacher has to be the provider of opinions (positive, the sidekicks are not negative), and suggestions but the student has to be the one to actually DO THE WORK. (her emphasis). Anyway, I just thought you should know.”

So there it is…all you have to do is ask them and they will tell you. What a concept!

From a proud mum:)

One thought on “Out of the mouths of babes

Leave a Reply

