Weekly Reflection, Nov. 9, 2010

It was a terrific night of shared inspirations that reinforced my sense that I am in the right place. I am currently reading the Stiggens book that L. loaned me, writing down things that resonate.

I am teaching writing and balancing equations. I have incorporated manipulatives as much as possible, in the hope that it will improve understanding and appeal to visual learners. I was inspired by C’s talk on Montessori, by the tools she uses to teach her students. I am also using reflections (journals) in class in an attempt to get students to think about their learning. It also allows me to check students understanding.

 I am consciously looking at the ILOs every day and writing them on the board (in student friendly language). The journal prompts are based on the ILOs in some way. It is challenging to look at 120 reflections, as well as make responses to them. I think I will ask students to choose 3 at the end of my mini inquiry. Three they feel the strongest about?? Hmmm I need to think about this some more.

I feel that I am reflecting, thinking about my practice all the time lately. I am pursuing the mini-inquiry, I am reading to inform my practice. I find it hard to find the time to write about it though. Room for improvement there, I think.

I am also finding it challenging to try out all of the new techie things we are introduced to in class. I would like to get proficient at editing my blog. Instead I am expected to figure out My Delicious, RSS, link up to my cohort’s blogs, read and comment on them and complete my mini-inquiry. This is all at the same time as preparing report cards. Yikes!

Hopefully, in 2 years I will be able to look back and laugh at it all.

Leave a Reply

